Is this for Real?

Our work and approach have added so much value that it can be hard to believe. We get common questions about everything. So we have uncommon answers. 

If you have an industrial design, product design, manufacturing engineering, innovation, or visualization challenge, Zetsy is for YOU! We work with businesses of all sizes – corporates, accelerators, growth stage ventures, start-ups, and even product dilettantes.

The bulk of our customers have <200 people, with internal design and product engineering teams of 1-40. All communication is in English. Even if you have never worked with an international team, don’t worry. We make it objective and easy. 

Finding the right people to innovate and execute a development project, or generate creative marketing collaterals, is an arduous ask. We not only have the right pool of talent to opportunistically onboard, but also have a library of design elements for the same talent to make use of, to deliver better and faster. In the end, you get unmatched value.

We have never experienced a customer replace an internal team. Rather, the internal team now simply have a resource that help with important development tasks so they can be freed up to help with other product, project and growth activities.

Zetsy is a combination of in-house delivery team, and a network of close but independent resources. Each person builds a “skills and interests passport” that tells us what they are both good at and enjoy doing. We have an inhouse tool to match members for the task at hand. 

A unit is NOT a single person, even though the monthly hours may look similar. It is a cluster of people, often a designer, an engineer, and a senior member. Depending on the day’s task one of more members will assume temporary leadership of the unit, work on the task and communicate to all stakeholders. Resources move in and out of units based on momentary skill demand.

The best Creative and Engineering Projects are inherently compatible with Fixed Price Contracts. Over 20+ years, we have noticed that the most successful programs went through at least one major pivot, and at least multiple course corrections that rendered preset milestones inoperative. A fixed price contract assumes a fixed statement of work, and no room for course corrections without time lost in long negotiations. Fixed Price Contracts preclude Innovation.

Instead of spending weeks negotiating an SOW, that time is better spent on refining user and product requirements, or still better, in doing the actual tasks that would move the work forward. Subscriptions allow for that. With the upfront payment, you also get 100% ownership of any work as soon as we create it. That way you do not have to wait for completed payments to share with your ecosystem.

A subscription model also sets the stage for scalability. It encourages Zetsy to engage deeply with you, see your needs for what they are, innovate, and help you scale up your business through unbeatable value. 

Uncommon. But not impossible. Bear in mind that if a Client’s payments happen at milestones, and have a 35 day credit period, the Fixed Price Contract/ SOW will have to consider the time spent in preparing SOWs and agreements, identifying milestone events, and adding margins and buffers for changes, and the cost of capital. These are typically 40-60% higher than if the same work was completed via a subscription model.

When we say unlimited, we truly mean it! With a subscription, you can request as many designs or engineering concepts as you’d like. You can also request for ANY kind of engineering tasks, including information research, and product audits. We will work on the requests in your queue every business day.

As much of experts as we are, bear in mind we are only human. We’re focused on a higher quality output relevant to your business. And Quality work takes time to complete

You have access to all folders and files so long as you have a subscription running. You can download anytime.

This depends on the type of product and type of request.You benefit from real-time communication on a Microsoft Teams Channel or a tool of your choice. The complexity of your request and/or the number of active requests currently in your queue will affect delivery times.  

We outright do NOT support, Branding and Packaging, Infographics, Digital Interface Design, Computer Aided Engineering Analysis, Consumer Testing, Consumer Workshops, or Design Thinking Workshops.

If you need long hours of daily communication with large teams, Zetsy is probably NOT a good fit for you. Our style is break activities to small tasks and execute them with autonomy. We escalate issues where clarifications are needed. 

This will be determined on a case-by-case basis. Some clients sign up for 3 months and get everything they need. Others might need 8-12 months. Some clients want to keep us on indefinitely. It all depends on your needs. Our goal is to maximize our skills and output so that we can hone our practice and manage to serve many customers. 

You are allowed to put in as many task requests as you want. There truly is no limit. However, we will take on only TWO tasks at a time, per subscription, and will not proceed to additional tasks, until the active ones are completed and approved.

If your current plans volume is too low, you can add one or more subscriptions to increase the size of your resource team. Scale up, Scale down on demand. We strongly recommend multiple subscriptions for complicated products and tasks.
Our team has turned around award winning work in shared risk-reward models. Our goal is to also become the #1 flat-rate product development services company in the world. 

It is up to you. If you meet daily Mon-Thurs, keep it to 15-20min and discuss no more than 3 tasks that can each be completed within 2 hours each. Some customers prefer meeting just once a week. In which case we publish a short set of items to take a decision on. We recommend avoiding long meetings.  From time to time, when convenient, a resource will meet face to face.  

We don’t do meetings on Friday. We use that day for peer review of your project from other resources.

We understand that a large part of product development is building consensus with management. With adequate notice senior members from Zetsy will do presentations on behalf of the team to your management or customers. Note that this would eat into the hours available for other valuable work.

Co-location is great. Not common, but possible. While one or more resources can be sent to your location of choice, depending on your subscription, you may not have access to additional members who earlier contributed to your work. In addition, there will be a Per Diem cost and perhaps a risk allowance, depending on your location. 

We can create simple project plans for you based on experience with various industries One of our OKRs is to finish 80% of planned project activities ahead of time.  But Product Development is unpredictable. If you want to hold the project plan sacrosanct to the week, then product development itself may not be appropriate for you.

If requested, we will maintain a weekly log of major decisions taken and work done on a spreadsheet within the teams channel.

 Mostly yes. Also, since multiple people work on your project, and we have a strong documentation ethic, no project suffers from a transition in people.

To pause a subscription, please send an email or IM to the resource working with you. Support will be stopped on non-payment of the Month’s subscription. To resume the subscription send an email to subscribe@bangid.com OR post a message on your Teams channel.  

 As of now, user accounts are needed only for managing subscriptions. For the actual work, we use Microsoft Teams Channels, or Google Workspace. We can invite as many users as you like.

We take a break 3 times a year, 1 week each, informed in advance, for rest and training. These are typically in April, October, and December.

Including forced local holidays, you should expect about 20 weekdays in a year, when no resource is available.

We are planning to experiment with a 4 day x 10h/day work week, a few teams at a time. 

In the subscription service, subject to timely payment, you have 100% ownership of the files the moment we deliver them to you.

We use prior art i.e., design libraries and 10,000 3D CAD features to speed up work. Those remain with us, but you carry the learnings with you. We send 3D CAD files in Native CREO, Fusion360 (Planned), OnShape (Planned) or STEP — whatever you prefer.

We have developed an ecosystem of manufacturers over the past 20 years, across injection moulding, to sheet metal fabrication. We’re happy to make the right introductions should you need it. 

We’re much more than a set of hands and minds. Since 1999 we have built a library of design features and technical elements. Over 10,000 and counting. This helps us, and you, converge to a workable solution faster.

Zetsy is also developing an intelligence platform that analyzes millions of data points on product features, product reviews, venture capital, startups, patents, partnerships, and news mentions to help our customers see tomorrow’s opportunities, today. If you are a subscriber, you will be the first to know when this goes live.

This is a subjective question. We come from a background of taking programs across medical devices, defense products, appliances, and mobile devices and wearables from strategy, design, DFMA and to launch. Our work has won the highest peer reviewed awards – BusinessWeek Design Excellence, BusinessWorld IDEA, FastCompany Innovation By Design, and numerous industry awards including at CES. And we have the structure to support almost any depth of work.

Our difference is in the approach. Our work is built around conforming to objective documents, such as User and Product Requirements, and in prioritizing features. This builds a robust framework for development, free from egos and biases. Our engagement model – subscription, no contracts, absorbing frequent pivots – gives us the bandwidth to innovate. This allows us to put your customer at the front of our list of priorities without compromise on quality and speed.

Zetsy is an open, honest, and transparent company. No smoke and mirrors. Just the work. 

Our customers are globally distributed. Our teams are mostly located across India, with headquarters and core functions in Bangalore. Our resources are increasingly spreading across the world but may not be in your local time zone. Requiring your Zetsy Resource to work uncomfortable hours every day is a sure way to lose them to other projects. The time zone gap is an advantage. Customers send requests in the evening and can see a well thought through response when they come back into the office the next morning. In many cases, our staff can even handle planned and occasional odd-hour webcam meetings from home. The following regions overlap during daylight savings time (DST) with working hours in India. Look a little closely and you will almost certainly find a convenient time for an overlap.
Time Zone Name UTC Your2 hours corresponding to  7.00 AM to 8.30 PM in India 
Hawaii Standard Time (HST) UTC – 10 3.30 PM to 5.00 AM
Alaska Daylight Time (AKDT) UTC – 8 4.30 PM to 6.00 AM
Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) UTC – 7 6.30 PM to 8.00 AM
Mountain Daylight Time (MDT) UTC – 6 7.30 PM to 9.00 AM
Central Daylight Time (CDT) UTC – 5 8.30 PM to 10.00 AM
Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) UTC – 4 9.30 PM to 11.00 AM
Atlantic Daylight Time (ADT) UTC – 3 10.30 PM to 12.00 AM
British Summer Time (BST) UTC + 1 2.30 AM to 4.00 PM
Central European Summer Time (CEST) UTC + 2 3.30 AM to 5.00 PM
Eastern European Summer Time (EEST) UTC + 3 4.30 AM to 6.00 PM
Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) UTC + 0 1.30 AM to 3.00 PM
Irish Standard Time (IST) UTC + 1 2.30 AM to 4.00 PM
Israel Standard Time (IST) UTC + 2 4.30 AM to 6.00 PM
Arabia Standard Time (AST) UTC + 3 9.30 AM to 6.00 PM
Moscow Standard Time (MSK) UTC + 3 4.30 AM to 6.00 PM
Turkey Time (TRT) UTC + 3 4.30 AM to 6.00 PM
Gulf Standard Time (GST) UTC + 4 5.30 AM to 7.00 PM
Iran Daylight Time (IRDT) UTC + 4.30 6.00 AM to 7.30 PM
Australian Western Standard Time (AWST) UTC + 8 9.30 AM to 10.00 PM
Australian Central Western Standard Time (ACWST) UTC + 8.45 10.15 AM to 11.45 PM
Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT) UTC + 10.30 12.00 PM to 1.30 AM
Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) UTC + 10 11.30 AM to 1.00 AM
Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) UTC + 10 11.30 AM to 1.00 AM
Lord Howe Daylight Time (LHDT) UTC + 11 12.30 PM to 2.00 AM
New Zealand Daylight Time (NZDT) UTC + 13 2.30 PM to 4.00 AM
Chatham Island Daylight Time (CHADT) UTC + 13.45 3.15 PM to 4.45 AM

Please read our Scope of Services to know more

Not Sure if this is for you?

We understand that this is a big decision for your agency which is why we’re happy to hop on a phone call to discuss your needs prior to joining.
©Copyright 2012-2021 Bang Studio Private Limited

Zetsy was established in 2012 and is the largest provider of unlimited product development services in the known universe

©Copyright 2012-2021 Bang Studio Private Limited

Zetsy was established in 2012 and is the largest provider of unlimited product development services in the known universe